EMESRT member company representatives actively promote the EMESRT engagement process at industry forums around the globe, introducing EMESRT resource materials developed to help understand the risks faced by operators and maintainers of earth moving equipment. This has generated considerable interest from companies operating in areas other than surface mining.

The EMESRT Advisory Group (EAG) is made up of member representatives and its role is to confirm strategy, prepare work plans including budgets, and to support the industry project leads. Each member contributes based on their diverse experience, individual skills and availability. 

This clear purpose combined with a volunteer structure, demands operating and project management processes that are both effective and efficient. The setting of the annual membership fee charges is directly based on providing the underlying resources for these work plans. 

EMESRT’s approach follows this simple and effective sequence: beginning by rigorously defining the problem and explaining it from the perspective of mining equipment users.  The EAG then prepares a draft industry project landscape that identifies stakeholders, confirms current knowledge and articulates project goals. EMESRT then builds project communities and coordinates resources to leverage industry level innovations and improvements. 

Project selection is framed by member company and industry experience and concern, the development of a compelling case for improvement, and the ability of EMESRT to influence. The EAG members lead and coordinate each of the EMESRT Technical Working Groups.

Technical Working Groups (TWG) are established by the EAG and are made of multiple member representatives, OEMs, third party suppliers, industry experts and others with relevant expertise.  The EAG and TWG meet on a regular basis to discuss the progress of each industry project covering next steps including industry engagement and information sharing opportunities.

Member representives


Anglo American

AngloGold Ashanti




New Hope Group

Rio Tinto

Teck Resources


Whitehaven Coal

Peter Hasler

Brett McDonald

Greg Henshall

Kostas Apostolidis

Tony Egan

Daenan Fairburn

Kent Flaherty

Mark Geerssen

Roberto Martinez

Natalie Hawkins

Andy Barrow

If you would like to become an EMESRT member please send an email to or via the Contact Us page.